The Birth(day) of my Blog

6 Jun

Pink + Ombre + Roses.

How fitting that my first ever post (the birth of this blog, you might say) coincides with my own birthday. For my birthday this year, I decided to break my 6 year streak of strictly store bought (Walmart) cakes and instead bake my own cake.So with 8+ hours of work, and a ridiculous amount of help from my best-friend/neighbor, I was able to create this wonderful, Double Pink Ombre Cake!

“Double pink?!” you may ask. Yup.

Double ombre all the way!
The recipe itself is extremely simple (both adapted from The Betty Crocker Big Book of Cupcakes), but the assembly was utterly time consuming. I was inspired by Glorious Treats and many many others!

Serves 20~24 depending on the size of your slices

White Cake (tripled):
2 3/4 C all purpose white flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 C butter
1 2/3 C white sugar
5 egg whites (I used the equivalent amount but from egg white substitute)
2 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 C milk

  • Heat oven to 350°F (370°F for darker pans). Spray two (or more) 9 in round baking pans with Crisco spray (or wipe with a bit of melted butter) and lightly flour, making sure to tap out all the extra flour and to evenly coat all sides
  • In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt
  • In a mixing bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer for 30 second on medium. Add sugar 1/3 C at a time, beating well after each addition and occasionally scraping the bowl. Beat for two more minutes.
  • Add egg whites one at a time. Add in vanilla.
  • On low speed, alternately add flour mixture, about 1/3 at a time, and milk, 1/2 at a time, beating until just blended
  • Pour half the batter into the first pan, and then mix a small amount of dye into the rest of the batter and pour the rest into the second pan; for both, fill about 1/2 to 2/3 of the pan full
  • Place in oven and bake 22-25min or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean
  • Remove done cakes from the oven, let them sit in the pan to cool for about 5 minutes, then carefully flip them onto a cooling rack (easier said than done)
  • As your first two pans are baking, repeat the steps for making the batter two more times, to have three times the original recipe in total (you may have to take the pans out, remove the cake, clean and re-oil/flour the pans, and refill them after while in the midst of making more batter, unless you have 6 identical 9 in pans laying around).
  • Don’t forget to add more dye to each layer!
  • Do not try to make all your batter in one go, your mixer will most likely not be able to handle it
  • When all six layers have been baked and cooled on the rack for at least 15-25 min, wrap each one individually in sarran wrap and freeze. They must freeze for at least 24 hours before being solid enough to assemble
That’s some pink batter, I’ll say!

White Frosting (quadrupled):
5~6 C powdered sugar (I found that 5 was the magic number for my taste, but the original calls for 6)
2/3 C butter
1 tbsp vanilla
1/4 C milk

  • In a large bowl, mix powdered sugar and butter with an electric mixer
  • Sir in the vanilla and 3 tbsp of the milk
  • Add more milk as needed to make frosting smooth (I found I needed at least 1/4 cup, or four tbsp, to make the frosting smooth)
  • Like the cakes, I suggest you make the recipe four times and not in one go. As each batch is complete, transfer to a very large bowl and place in the fridge to firm as you make the next batch. Once all the frosting has been made, make sure it has at least a few minutes to firm up in the fridge

Assembly:
Six (frozen) cake layers
Frosting
Offset Spatula
Disposable piping bags (one with a wide hole cut in it or a #12 tip, and one with a rose tip)
Cake stand or something to assemble/decorate/serve cake from

  • Cut frozen layers so they are flat and the same diameter; feel free to cut off extra on the edges
  • Dollop frosting on cake stand and spread before placing the first layer (like glue to keep the base in place)
  • Use piping bag with large opening to pipe frosting around the circumference of the base layer
  • Pipe more frosting in the center of the layer and spread with offset spatula until even
  • Place next layer on top (making sure that frosting is even and layer is not drooping) and repeat for every layer
  •  Once all layers are placed, crumb coat the sides of cake and top of the final layer
  • Now you’re ready for the roses! Start on the top with roses (for how to do the swirl roses, look here and here)
  • For the ombre effect, I used different amounts of coloured dye (to be honest, I did not measure out equal amounts and add different amounts of dye to each…in reality I mixed more and eye balled the color as I went along….not particularly scientific at all)

Taste: 

Healthiness: 

Would I make it again? Maybe. Visually the cake was stunning, but I was personally not satisfied with the taste of the cake (maybe I’m not used to using such heavy ingredients), however I got tons and tons of compliments on the taste, so no clear verdict. The amount of time and effort also makes me wary of attempting this cake again; this took 8+ hours between two people…you have been warned.

Oh my goodness that was a long post. I promise every post will not be this ridiculously detailed, but I figured someone may want an in-depth, step by step how to on this colossal cake! I hope someone tries this, I’d love to see it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

